Operation MacBook Sleeve

I lament that since the introduction of laptops into the world of technology, laptop cases have remained stubbornly plain, black, and wholly uncreative. And so I decided to put my knitting skills to test, and began a new project: Operation MacBook Sleeve (OMS). I searched online for a decent design for a laptop case, and after much digging, I was saved by Craftzine.com, one of my favorite websites. The pattern I based OMS on was this beautiful Aran Laptop Cover published by Canadian Living Magazine. The only problem is, the cable pattern’s printed wrong. So I had to re-write the cable pattern. But it all worked out in the end, so I’m happy!

(The sleeve is actually perfectly fitting to the size of the laptop… I just pulled it out a bit for some color contrast in the photo.)

Perhaps I am biased because of my investment of time into OMS, but I do think that this is quite a stylish laptop sleeve. It beats the big, black, bulky ones, anyhow.

~ by thechanster on 10:01 pm, Friday, May 30, 2008.

6 Responses to “Operation MacBook Sleeve”

  1. So many people have macbooks…Alissa got one, and Eli Alster operates both Windows and Mac on his. However, I still want a tablet…

  2. Crazy, isn’t it, Alice? It’s like an epidemic. You should get a tablet and I’ll get myself a digital SLR camera. Problem: money?

  3. Could you tell me how your corrected the wild oak part of the pattern? I am having a hard time with it. Thanks.

    Kathy

  4. Yeah, sure! I’ll post the corrected wild oak pattern as soon as I get a chance! Expect it within the next week. =)

  5. Hi Kathy. I was just looking at the wild oak cable pattern and I believe the editors of Canadian Living have revised the pattern. It is now correct. If you are still having a hart time with, let me know and I’ll see what I can do to help you out! Best of luck!

  6. I’m a little late to the game, but I’ve just settled down to make this, and it seems that the Canadian Living website no longer has the cable charts up! Any chance you still have them?

Leave a Reply

 
