Grocery Shopping

As I was brainstorming of different places to go to expend my first roll of film on my Minolta, I came across a grocery store. It was the perfect idea. From the vast array of junk food to the vivid colors of fresh fruit, this was the perfect place to begin my expedition with film. So last night, I decided to test this idea, and brought along my point-and-shoot to see just how photogenic the grocery store was. As I patrolled the aisles and aisles of interesting stock at Sprouts, I would kneel down, angle myself, flash/no flash, and take a couple snapshots. After a dozen pictures or so, the store manager came up to me and said, “Excuse me miss. We don’t usually allow pictures. Are you affiliated with any company?”

“Oh… Sorry. I’m just taking pictures because I think it’s interesting and curious.” I pointed at a display of multi-colored juice cans labeled “Crayons.”

“Oh. Okay.” And then he walked away awkwardly.

These may be illegal pictures, but so be it. How many times do you get to see a seemingly never-ending bucket of chocolate chips?

Or a scale that goes counter-clockwise?

Or a display of soda that looks this cool?

Maybe I should just stick with the Asian grocery store. At Lee Lee, I’m sure they couldn’t care less about whether or not you photographed the 99 cent plastic dishes.

~ by thechanster on 9:00 am, Saturday, June 7, 2008.

4 Responses to “Grocery Shopping”

  1. “And then he walked away awkwardly”…I almost feel sorry for the poor guy…hahaha…I can just picture you there…and wow that is a lot of soda. Doesn’t it just make you wonder about the consumerist nature of our society? I mean, soda is an unnatural substance to begin with–a luxery product that has no basis in our natural diet and exists merely to sell itself. It also makes you wonder about how spoiled we are getting–about all the food wasted and the massive quantities at our fingertips every day, just seconds away…such a massive cry from how things used to be, isn’t it? Can we truly appreciate, for example, the lives of the animals we take for our meat, the habitats destroyed for our farms, when we are so far removed from it all? To us, it is just a nicely plastic-wrapped package sitting on a lone shelf among hundreds of similar packages…Does anyone truly appreciate how cushy our lives are? Wow bet you didn’t expect your innocent picture experiment to generate such a response, did you?

  2. That display of soda is a well taken shot and the display of dishes almost looks like it could be out of one of those magazines.

  3. Hahaha Charlotte, the part about the manager left me laughing for 5 minutes straight. For some reason, it reminded me of the time you called Dr. Gruhl in the middle of the plaza and RSVP-ed for Mary, Francisco, B, you, and me. You hilarious nerd :)

  4. Hi there I am not much into reading, but somehow I got to read lots of post on your blog. Its incredible how appealing it is for me to visit regularly.

Leave a Reply

 
