Three Left Feet

My Proms and Winter Formals always consisted of me wiggling my butt awkwardly in (relative) rhythm to the ear-drum-damaging music and holding my hands up in the air, pointing my index fingers at the disco-ball-sprinkled ceiling with my elbows glued to my sides. So it would come to no surprise to anyone–especially my prom and winter formal dates–to find out that I have had no experience with dancing since elementary school, when I took ballet for three months and then quit when my teacher told me I had no grace. But now, when my summer days are occupied by no more than photography, job-searching, blogging, and endless hours of relaxation, I have begun taking dance lessons.

Three weeks ago, my family and I signed up for ballroom dancing lessons at the local Fred Astaire Dance Studio franchise. We’ve been going once a week, for half-and-hour private lessons. So far, I have learned the basic steps of the Rumba, Cha-Cha, Tango, Waltz, Foxtrot, and Swing! And although these few lessons have only added further evidence to support the assertion that I not only have two left feet, but three, I may end up continuing these lessons until the end of summer break. My experiences with my dancing coach have made me appreciate the talents of sports stars and actors on “Dancing with the Stars” even more. I love ballroom dancing. It’s fun, and you don’t have to be good at it to give it a go. Just figure out the basics. It’ll be fantabulous. I just wish there were more guys in this day and age who know that there is more to dancing than just grinding.

~ by thechanster on 10:56 pm, Tuesday, June 10, 2008.

2 Responses to “Three Left Feet”

  1. AAAAAAAAHHHH this is so AWWWWEEESSSSSOOOOMMMMMEEEE!!!! Maybe now I will be forced to take dance lessons so the next time you are my hot dance partner (haha…good memories) I won’t look foolish next to you!!!! I love coordinated dances (although with me using the word coordinated becomes an unintended pun…)–I am so jealous!!! That is so cool!!!!

  2. Oh and btw this post is extraordinarily written–your voice jumps off the page and you make it very funny!!!! I love reading your blog!!!! And writing lots of exclamation points!!!!!!!!

    I am still chuckling over the line “these few lessons have only added further evidence to support the assertion that I not only have two left feet, but three…” hahahahahahaha

Leave a Reply

 
