Film 2a: Trails and Errors

No, it’s not a typo. There were trails. And then there were errors. Or, more precisely, one BIG error.

On Father’s Day, my dad took my sister and I hiking. I took my Minolta. It was an incredible day: the sky was a beautiful blue, and at 6:30 am, the sun had not yet begun to hand out skin cancer. As we walked on the dirt trail, a trio of deers appeared alongside us, just off the path. Luckily, my Minolta was at the ready, and I snapped picture after picture of the cute little creatures. Two of them ran off when we tried to get closer, but one lingered behind. She hid behind a tree and poked her head through the branches, looking straight at us. It was a wonderful opportunity for picture-taking, despite the fact that I had only my basic lens with, unfortunately, no zoom capability. My sister whipped out her point-and-shoot and snapped away. It was fantastic. As we hiked, I would occasionally stop to take a few pictures, again experimenting with aperture and shutter speed as I had with my first roll of film (see Trials and Errors for more details). And an hour and a half later, my second roll of film was nearly spent.

Yesterday morning, after a refreshing 3-mile run, I went out to finish off the last picture or two of the roll, and took a wonderful picture of a majestic cactus reaching its arms out to the sky. It was the last picture. And so I pushed the rewind button at the bottom of the camera and rewound the film. But as I was rewinding, the rewind crank got stuck, and I couldn’t turn it clockwise any further. I checked the Safe Load Signal, and indeed the red bar had moved out of the window over to the left and disappeared. I knew it was odd. But that didn’t stop my stupidity.

Next thing I know, I had opened the back of the camera, to find a roll of film that had not yet been completely rewound. The last picture of the majestic cactus reaching its arms out to the sky had been sacrificed, and perhaps even my pictures of these beautiful flowers had been compromised, too. It turns out, the end of the film was stuck on the spool and I had to nearly wrench it out to retrieve the last bit of film. WIth a heavy heart, I wrapped the exposed film around the partially rewound roll and put it securely in its opaque, black canister.

I don’t know if they can salvage the film that had already been rewound. But I sure hope so. If not, then my sightings of the deer, my pictures of a little no-larger-than-my-thumb frog, and my scenic shots will be lost forever. Lost to the light that lets us photograph in the day. Lost to the hands of one stupid pre-amateur picture-taker.

~ by thechanster on 7:14 am, Tuesday, June 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
