Film 2b: A Hike with Photography

Film 2 came back and much to my delight, none of my shots were compromised from my premature opening-of-camera mistake (detailed in Film 2a: Trails and Errors). However, the turn-out of some of the pictures was a little disappointing. As with Film 1, I bracketed each shot I took by adjusting the aperture and the shutter speed.

As we began our hike, there were these plants with white, spherical flowers that, in my dad’s words, “glowed like little lightbulbs” when the sun hit them from behind. I tried to capture the image, testing out a range of aperture-shutter-speed combinations. But the sun was overpowering. Does anyone have advice on how to use sun flare to their advantage?

f/11, 1/60 (click photo to enlarge)

f/5.6, 1/60 (click photo to enlarge)

It’s so interesting how distinct the moods are between the two pictures, as they were only a couple aperture stops apart. The first one has such clarity and contrast that my dad says it almost looks like I’m photographing a dead plant. The second one, on the other hand, has a sort of softness to it that gives it a surreal mystique. What do you think?

But while the experiment with the lightbulb plant yielded quite a variation of end results, some of my other trials were less conclusive. I took a number of pictures of this scene right here, intending on experimenting with different depths of field. But when they came out, they were all indistinguishable from each other. Still, I love the vividness of blue sky. So beautiful. It almost looks like I did some color adjustment. But, in fact, it’s just film. Scanned straight into my laptop.

f/11, 1/250 (click photo to enlarge)

In any case, I think one of the most exciting parts of our Father’s Day hiking adventure (detailed in Film 2: Trails and Errors) was the deer sighting. But over the last few days, I think I have glorified my memory of the pictures I snapped of the furry creature. Because instead of up-close-and-personal shots of her (or maybe him?), I got distant pictures of desert landscape with a slowly cantering deer in the center, just barely distinguishable from its surroundings. Oh, if only I had taken my telephoto lens with me. Then maybe I would have gotten a decent picture.

f/11, 1/125 (click photo to enlarge)

We walked by one of the dams, next to which was a magnificent tree. I wanted to capture it in its entirety, so I got down on a rock (lucky for my back, the rock was pretty flat and smooth) and tried to take the picture from below. But I neither succeeded in framing the entire tree inside my little viewfinder nor did I truly capture its wonder, its grandeur, its dignity. Still, though, I kind of like the way the tree looks against the sky, color-wise.

f/11, 1/125 (click photo to enlarge)

When we finished our hike, I had only a few exposures left in my second roll of film, so I took one of a saguaro cactus just beyond my backyard and one of a garden of beautiful flowers outside AJ’s Fine Foods.

f/11, 1/125 (click photo to enlarge)

f/11, 1/60 (click photo to enlarge)

The more I look at these two photographs, the more I favor them. I love the slightly faded, vintage-y feel (the random black spot to the left of the cactus just adds to the aura). Only thing is, both were just accidents. Does anyone know how to get that aged look consistently?

Note: I scanned these pictures from my 4×6 prints, so some of the quality is lost (especially in the lightbulb plant photographs). But I don’t know how else to go about it, so this will just have to be good enough.

~ by thechanster on 8:26 am, Thursday, June 19, 2008.

One Response to “Film 2b: A Hike with Photography”

  1. haha, im alergic to those pretty little ‘glowing like little lightbulbs’ plants. but i think those pictures are really beautiful, not that i would know about photography. ^_^

Leave a Reply

 
