A Call for Help re: Photo Shoots

I want to do a photo shoot with someone (me being the one clicking the shutter, that is). But, being nearly incompetent with a camera, I don’t even know where to begin. What is one supposed to do to prepare for such an event? Are you supposed to tell the model to come dressed in whatever she or he wants? Or do you pick out the wardrobe? Do you give the model direction? Or do you leave it to her (or his) imagination? Do I bring all my equipment? Or just a portion? Do I choose the location(s)? Or leave it to the “flow” of the shoot to determine? Do I pick a theme? Or just jump right in? I have so many questions, so few answers. What am I to do?

Perhaps my minimal knowledge of all this is indicative of my lack of readiness. Perhaps I should wait and finish my exploration of exposures, lenses, and filters before I take on such a challenge. And perhaps I should do some research about the complexities of a photo shoot. Advice, anyone?

~ by thechanster on 8:27 am, Monday, June 23, 2008.

3 Responses to “A Call for Help re: Photo Shoots”

  1. My advice would be to try a test shoot with a couple of friends rather than a professional model, so you can get an idea of locations and suitable equipment to use. Presuming you’re shooting personal work and not a model portfolio’s I think you’ll need to give some direction, particularly in how you want them to look/ pose. But the best way to learn is to get out there and try it out!!

  2. I agree. Choose a couple of friends before a professional. As for directing her, that’s always a good help. I did it once, and when the photography called out like “Be happy” “Be thoughtful” “Put her hands behind her head”. That always made me feel comfortable. But she also gave me freedom to pose however I felt in some others.

    As for location and theme, you should choose. But let her in on it- negotiate. WArdrobe should be her choice.

    My best advice is to do many photo shoots, each trying different methods. Do some themed. Do some where you bring her outfits for her. Have fun!!

  3. I had a lot of typos in there. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

 
