Running from Nature

The sky was speckled with clouds as the sun arose. They met in a shower of pink and orange, and I, too enthralled to take myself out of the moment and get my camera, basked in the glory of the beautiful desert sunrises. It was the beginning of a beautiful day.

I put on my sports bra, Soffes, and socks, ready for the four-mile run I had planned last night. The weather couldn’t be better: the sun was hiding, and a cool breeze rocked the tree branches gently. And so I set out, closing my eyes and breathing in the fresh summer air with a satisfied smile on my face. Birds chirped, trees rustled, and life was as life was. Ahh, nature.

But perhaps my celebration and rejoice of desert wildlife had come too soon. One mile into my run, I saw a dog-like creature in the distance, just off the paved road. As I got closer, I realized that it was a coyote, meandering around along the side of the path. If I kept running, I would have soon gotten within a mere few feet of it. So I stopped, turned around slowly, and walked in the opposite direction.

I breathed deeply. That had been close. What would have happened if it suddenly pounced, wrestling me to the ground in some sort of malevolent, unwarranted rage? My heart beat returned to normal, and I looked over my shoulder to make sure I had left the coyote behind.

When I turned my head around, my eyes met not a coyote’s retreating behind, but the coyote’s eyes themselves. It was standing in the middle of the road, glaring at me. I tried to calm myself with deep and steady breaths. Just keep walking, I thought to myself. Just keep walking.

But as I kept walking, so did it, closing in with every step. I fumbled for my cell phone and dialed home. My dad picked up on the first ring.

“Umm… Daddy? I’m being following by a coyote.”

“Where are you? I’m coming right now.”

Right foot, left foot, then right foot, then left foot, I reminded myself. Just keep walking.

Less than a minute later, my dad was racing to my aid. The sound of the engine and the monstrosity of this moving machine scared my stalking coyote away into the bushes. It was an unfortunate waste of a perfect morning. And what would have been a wonderful run, turned out to be a run-for-your-life.

But then again, I suppose that’s what you get for living so close to nature, so close to its creatures, so close to the life of the desert.

~ by thechanster on 8:07 am, Monday, June 23, 2008.

4 Responses to “Running from Nature”

  1. I loved this entry. I don’t know if I needed to know you put on your sports bra though. Keep it up, On On!

  2. Oh my gosh Chanster!!! How scary is that?? Then again, you probs could have taken him home and kept him as a pet. That reminds me, if I haven’t told you my dad’s “lioncat” story remind me to fill you in next time we meet….Arab + bobcats = hilarity.

  3. HOOOOOOOOOOLY CRAP!!! I had a neighborhood dog run at me barking this morning but NOTHING like that. Not cool. Glad you’re ok!!!

    Might wanna carry some MACE with that cell phone or something…whew.

  4. Don’t let these things stop you.

    I know the feeling well… http://rvewong.wordpress.com/storys/scene-of-the-crime-intro/

Leave a Reply

 
