Film 3: Lens Explorations

It’s been nearly a week since I posted about Film 2, but nevertheless, I have finished Film 3 and it’s all developed and ready for critique!

I had originally been under the impression that my dad had three different lenses: a telephoto, a wide-angle, and a macro. But I was mistaken. There was (and is) no macro lens. Ahh, well. What I did have, though, was a 80-200mm 1:4.5 telephoto, a 35mm 1:2.8 wide-angle, and a 28mm 1:2.5 wide-angle. Well, these lenses plus the original 45mm 1:2 lens I was using.

So… first off is the telephoto! I took a few of desert life, though even with the telephoto, I was not able to get close enough to get a solid view of the creature(s). Here’s one that I took at roughly 125mm that turned out pretty nice. Look at the two little birdies!

f/11 1/125 (click photo to enlarge)

But since I couldn’t get the entire cactus, I decided to give one of my wide-angle lenses a try. Sure enough, it fit the whole cactus, though by the time I had switched lenses, one of the birdies had flown away. It looks so incredibly tall with the wide-angle distortion! And the sky looks much more blue.

f/11, 1/125 (click photo to enlarge)

I have this really old basketball hoop on the side of my driveway. We’ve never felt the need to replace it since we’ve only made use of it once or twice in the last ten years. This was just a random thing that I decided to photograph to see what the sun flare would look like. I’m not quite sure what I think of it, but it’s quite interesting.

f/11, 1/250 (click photo to enlarge)

But out of these so far, I think my favorite lens is the 35mm 1:2.6. The 35mm wide-angle is a really old one that my uncle got at a swap meet and gave to my dad. It’s quite heavy (a lot heavier than the original lens, at least) and feels secure in your hands (it doesn’t have that cheap, plastic feel). I can’t really justify why I like it so much… I just do. It seems to be a pretty bright lens and takes quite good pictures:

f/16, 1/125 (click photo to enlarge)

Even in macro-like pictures, it fares quite well.

f/8, 1/125 (click photo to enlarge)

Please note that all of these pictures were scanned (completely untampered and no editing involved), so the colors and such aren’t nearly as good here as they are in actuality.

I am actually quite pleased with the way Film 3 came out. What do you think?

~ by thechanster on 10:39 am, Wednesday, June 25, 2008.

One Response to “Film 3: Lens Explorations”

  1. nice photography, could be a little more in focus.

Leave a Reply

 
