Waterfalls of the Desert

It had been many years since I last did Seven Falls, a trail that consisted of many river-crossings, leading up to a glorious seven-ledged waterfall. And although my memory of the trail was skewed by time, I still had high hopes for the beauty of the desert landscape. So I brought my Minolta, a 35mm wide-angle lens, and a tripod. This was, after all, a perfect chance to play around with long exposures and waterfall photography.

My dad, my sister, and I all woke up at 5, so we could start hiking by 6. It was our humble attempt to bypass the excruciating heat (which has been made worse by the early arrival of the monsoon season). Two sweat-soaked hours, 4.5 miles, and seven dry river crossings later, we reached our destination. Despite the recent showers, we got not a beautiful waterfall, but seven ledges of bare rock leading down to a shallow pool of algae-infested water. We were serenaded by the gentle chirping of birds and the parasitic buzzing of wasps. But no trickle of running water. The two hours of lugging around the tripod were in vain. And so after we took a few pictures of the parched waterfall, we headed back through the treacherous heat and humidity.

Still, though, it was an excellent work out. Everything from my abs down is in a considerable amount of pain. But no pain, no gain, right?

Maybe next time I hike Seven Falls, I should remember that I live in the desert. And in the desert, finding water is like seeing Santa Claus.

~ by thechanster on 4:00 pm, Saturday, June 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
