The Concept of Summer Homework

It astounds me to think that after a grueling admissions process, universities still expect you keep dozens of forms, write essays, and do assigned readings… all before the first day of your Freshman year. And so today I received a package in the mail that contained three books. Yay for summer reading. Yay. And the purpose of this pre-term assignment? To “whet your appetite for what awaits you” and to stimulate “intimate conversation […] with your dormmates.”

But despite the fact that I now have official homework to take away from my post-graduation socializing, I would have to admit that I am quite excited to read these books. After all, if they’re assigned to some two thousand Freshmen-to-be at a rather prestigious school, they must be at least decently interesting, right?

Now the big question is, which book do I start with? Junot Diaz’s Pulitzer-Prize-winning novel The Brief Wonderous Life of Oscar Wao? Or ZZ Packer’s compilation of stories Drinking Coffee Elsewhere? Or perhaps Lynda Barry’s graphic novel One! Hundred! Demons! would be a better start?

But I’ll leave this post here for now. I have three books on my plate to read!

~ by thechanster on 5:28 pm, Tuesday, July 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
