Running in Paradise

Oftentimes, when people think of Hawai’i, they think of this hot, humid climate of paradise. But they are mistaken. Sure, by the time noon rolls around, the sun has taken over this tropical archipelago, and every droplet of sweat your body excretes hangs on to your skin like it’s the end of the world. But for a morning person like myself, the Hawaiian weather takes on a different face.

I awoke jet-lagged the first morning at the crack of dawn (roughly 5:30 am) to a chorus of birds outside the window. I went downstairs (we’re staying at my uncle’s), slipped on some shoes, and opened the door to a cool summer breeze. The 75-degree air felt refreshing as the wind slipped around my bare arms and legs. The view was gorgeous, and on the west horizon, a dark blue ocean kissed the forget-me-not blue sky. Perfect time, perfect temperature, perfect oxygen-saturated, sea-level air. What more could one ask for? It was truly paradise.

But ten minutes into my run, I began to feel the humidity of the tropics pressing in on me. The air, however abundant with oxygen, was also abundant with water particles, and its thickness filled my lungs in a completely un-desert-like fashion. I ran up and down the streets of the hilly neighborhood, my body working to extract oxygen from the water-logged air.

Two-point-five miles later, I stood at the top of the hill, out-of-breath and exhausted, but satisfied nonetheless. Never has a mere 2.5 miles felt so good.

My uncle’s house has a gorgeous view.

f/11, 1/125, 35mm [film 6]

view from my uncle's house

~ by thechanster on 11:49 pm, Thursday, July 17, 2008.

One Response to “Running in Paradise”

  1. Sounds like an impressive run!!! Beautiful picture too!

Leave a Reply

 
