The Beach

I love the concept of the beach. The long walks along the shore, the romantic sunsets that fade into the horizon, the gentle ebb and flow of the ocean. But in reality, the beach is simply not my thing. I hate the way sand makes its way around your toes and beneath your nails, the way the salt water leaches at your skin and leaves it feeling tight, the way unexpected rocks jut out from the sand, rendering your feet suddenly pained. Still, though, I am fascinated by the way the ocean seems to stretch to the end of the world and beyond, the way it makes me ponder its seeming infinitude, the way it kisses the sky at the horizon. So I guess what I love about the beach, is watching it simply be, rather than taking part in its being. And I photograph its being and the being of others in its wake.

Ihilani Marriott Resort. FILM.

beach

I hate how the horizon is crooked. Waikiki Beach. FILM.

beach

I like the distant sailboats. Waikiki Beach. FILM.

beach

I opened up the aperture one stop too much so the colors didn’t come out so well. But I love the guy sitting in the bottom right hand corner. Waikiki Beach. FILM.

beach

Yellow parasols and green palm trees and oh-so-many shades of blue, blue, blue. Waikiki beach. FILM.

beach

This is what I love: the being of the beach and the sea and paradise.

Note: These were all taken with a Minolta 35mm film camera fitted with a 28mm wide-angle lens. I’ve come to love wide-angle.

~ by thechanster on 12:49 am, Tuesday, July 22, 2008.

5 Responses to “The Beach”

  1. Your pictures are so beautiful! I am glad someone is still using film! I just read through your blog, and I am enjoying it. Keep up the good work. Or descend into madness, your choice!

  2. I really like your travel pictures. I love to walk the beach in Oregon and watch the waves.

  3. I haven’t commented on your blog in so long!!! What is wrong with me? haha Anyway…

    I COMPLETELY agree with you about beaches. But for me all experiences of the beach are tinged with a hint of fear. The ocean, quite frankly, terrifies me. But, like the Romantics, its awesome power and vastness also fascinates me. Like the mouse being drawn to its reflection in the snake’s eyes, it terrifies yet enthralls me. And I find myself with a sort of melancholy, often, when I stare off into the horizon…I’m not much of a beach person. Yet I do love staring off across the water and feeling the vastness and mystery of nature over which we still have no control.

  4. oh, and I am kind of amused by the fact that the horizon is never perfectly horizontal–perhaps it is a secret hint of the Earth’s curvature…Or perhaps you can claim that it is a hint that we are all sliding off into the vast unknown; the way we have treated the Earth through pollution, etc, has redered the ground unstable and we must change quickly or lose our footing.

    Haha there I go again…

  5. Oh, Thanks! Really amazing. Greets.

Leave a Reply

 
