Of Truth in Nighttime Musings

There have been so many times in my life when I sit in front of my computer, a blank word document open, and simply type. The light from the screen and the tapping of my fingers on the keyboard are the only disturbances in the still night. My family is asleep. I should be too. My eyes are wide and staring, dry with tiredness. And yet I am still awake.

Words form on the screen, my subconscious rising up to meet reality. Inner poets meet the world. Clandestine philosophies resurface. Suppressed feelings rekindle.

When I look back at these late-night stream-of-consciousness documents, I wonder how much of all those utterances were actually true. Was I simply releasing a secret desire to be dark and dramatic, cryptic and poetic, a Sylvia Plath copycat? Or are these nighttime writings my true self, the one completely untouched by the expectations and suppressions of society?

How much of what we write is true? How much of what we write is honest? How much of what we write reflects who we are?

~ by thechanster on 11:21 pm, Wednesday, August 13, 2008.

2 Responses to “Of Truth in Nighttime Musings”

  1. Hey, Heres the link to my flickr page… I haven’t uploaded anything in a while though… I recently purchased a Canon Rebel Xsi and i’m going to upload to that when i start shooting again…

    http://flickr.com/photos/anilpatel721/

    You might want to try out Photoshop Express online…. It’s a free service and it can grab all your photos from Flickr… I’ve been using it a lot…

  2. Charlotte…I…

    I do that too…I stay up late and I just write…and what I write is pretty much never what I intended to at first…and I wonder, is it better? is this what I was meant to write? is this what I meant? and I have no answer…

Leave a Reply

 
