High School Reminiscences

A couple weeks ago, I decided to take a destination-less drive and watch the sunset. It was a beautiful night. Clouds spread across the sky like pompoms and lace, and you could see the silhouette of mountains all around you in the distance. The rays of light bounced off the puffs and whisps of marshmallows, turning them into strawberry-flavored goodness, and the pink hues backgrounded the mountains like paintings of the Romantic.

But as the sunset drew to a close, my mindless driving had taken me to my high school, the one I had left behind when I walked up to receive my diploma in May. I pulled into the parking lot, took my camera (I rarely leave the house without it), and walked around the campus. It was still and silent, and crickets and grasshoppers seemed to serenade my stroll. Each step echoed as my foot hit the concrete. I laid down on the pavement, still hot from the day’s sun, and looked up at the fading light of the sky.

And then it hit me. I was going to miss this place. Despite all the unpleasant memories, all the complaints about teachers, all the insults I hurled at the school, I was going to miss it. In a couple weeks, I’ll be on a plane to California, where I’ll make pleasant and unpleasant memories, and grow attached to yet another campus. But I’ll still miss this place.

And then, as suddenly painful as a rock falling from the sky, I felt lonely.

school

~ by thechanster on 7:45 am, Wednesday, September 3, 2008.

One Response to “High School Reminiscences”

  1. I know how you feel.

    Although I went through the whole graduation ceremony, speech giving, after graduation dinner celebration, and everything, I still feel like I haven’t had closure about ending high school since I never really had a chance to go around the campus and say good bye to all the memory-laden spots and my favorite haunts.

Leave a Reply

 
