Pointless Musings

There is something wonderful about being able to stay up until 4:30 am doing homework, get up four hours later to go to class, and still be happy. In high school, so much of my workload consisted of meaningless busywork that I came to dread the concept of homework. But now that I’m in college, I actually enjoy almost every moment of my studying, regardless of increasingly escalated stress levels.

Last night, I read the remaining 180 pages or so of The Red Badge of Courage, and then skimmed it over once I was through, looking for evidence to support my essay argument. (The prompt: Make an organized case for or against the idea that The Red Badge of Courage is a novel of education. Have Henry’s views really changed by the end of the book? If so, how? If not, why not?) I started reading around 5. I finished the essay at midnight.

But my completion of my humanities assignment had no implication of the coming of sleep. I took a study break just long enough to (casually) eat an apple (it was delicious), and then went back to the books. But for a different class. Within half an hour, my brain had switched from writing arguments about changing viewpoints within the Civil War to researching the history and recent progressivism of architecture in China. I laid out the four nearly-five-pound books that I had checked out from the library a few days prior (it was a pain to carry all of it back to my dorm, which is a little over a mile away from the library… I had push my backpack nearly to its breaking point and then carry one of the books in my arms… while biking!), and began to read, post-it-noting my way through the hundreds of pages. Surprisingly, I finished around 3:30 am, cleaned my room, brushed my teeth, wrote a note to my roommate asking her to wake me up at 8:30 am (I knew that I’d sleep through my alarms), and then fell into the first half of a glorious REM cycle at four-and-a-half o’clock.

It’s 6:30 pm and I’m running on four hours of sleep (which wouldn’t be so bad if it wasn’t for the fact that I’ve been getting an average of 4-5 hours a night). I have a problem set to do by tomorrow (f***), but am still happy to do the work I have. In fact, even when a homework-less night comes my way (rare as it is), I do work to “get ahead.”

And now, after several paragraphs of virtually utter nonsense, I’m going to finish up my problem set, call my friend (I’m editing her college essays), and do some research. And then it’ll be Friday. And the weekend will bring a few days of hard work and maybe just a smidgeon of playtime.

~ by thechanster on 6:37 pm, Thursday, October 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
