NaNoWriMo?

As the rain pours down on fallen leaves of orange and gold, washing away the traces of college parties, there is a distinct feeling of fall in the air. With fall comes November, and with November comes National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), where thousands of writers and bloggers and the like sit down at their computers and churn out beautiful prose. But as I sit here, reading about NaNoWriMo for the first time ever, I am torn between my desire to try writing a novel and my complete lack of creativity.

I have never written anything longer than a short story, and even then, I struggled to find a coherent plotline and interesting characters. My poetry is either trite or so abstract its meaning is indecipherable, and most often is selfishly about me. And my brain is to plain to even conjure up a brainstorm.

Maybe I should just forget about creating characters and plots and outlines in my head. Maybe I should just stop complaining about my inexperience in novel-writing and get a move on it. Maybe I should just sit down, write, and hope it brings me somewhere.

Write, write, write.

Here I go. We’ll see how long I last.

~ by thechanster on 11:46 am, Saturday, November 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
