Film: A Dying Medium?

Yesterday, after work, I walked downtown to get a couple rolls of film developed at the drugstore. But when I got there, I was shocked to see that they no longer had 1 hour photo services. It was then that I realized that my attachment to film was a love for a dying medium. How is it that even drugstores no longer develop photographs?

Struck with sadness and a tinge of frustration, I asked the photo manager (who only does prints from digital photographs) where I could get my film developed. He directed me to Wolf Camera, a specialty photography store a few blocks away (which was, coincidentally, a few blocks closer to campus). I dropped off my film there and then talked with one of the salespeople about cameras for nearly the entire hour that my photos were being processed. I expressed my most recent camera dilemma: the Nikon D80 vs. the Canon 40D. Admittedly, I still don’t know which camera I want to get in several months’ time, but it was still fun to talk to someone qualified to debate the topic with me.

Unfortunately, the couple rolls that I took there were casual pictures that I had snapped at random times, and none were all that outstanding. So I felt slightly embarrassed to stand there talking about expensive cameras to an accomplished photographer while my prints fell short of expectations. But still, in a way, I’m glad that the drugstore stopped developing film. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have gone to Wolf Camera, nor would I have gotten to discuss photographic technology with other picture-taking fanatics like myself.

~ by thechanster on 1:59 pm, Sunday, February 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
