No Place Like Home

I had forgotten how beautiful Tucson was. But as I drove over to a good friend’s house early this morning to see him just before he left for school again, I realized just how incredible my hometown was. It was just after sunrise, and the sun was peeking out from behind the wisps of clouds. Its rays spread out in open arms and bathed the roads in comforting warmth. The colors were subtle and had the washed-out tones of an underdeveloped photograph. It was breathtaking.

It’s a different sort of beauty than the boldness of Northern California. There are no the vividly green trees set against vividly red rooftops piercing a vividly blue sky splotched with vividly white clouds. Rather, the desert is soft and sweet, gentle and kind, humble and simple.

I love it here. There really is no place like home.

fading away

[I took this picture a few months back when my family and I drove up one of the
surrounding mountains for the day. It was beautiful. Film.]

~ by thechanster on 10:00 am, Saturday, March 21, 2009.

2 Responses to “No Place Like Home”

  1. That picture is amazing, just like you. Have fun in Tucson!

  2. The desert is not normally described as gentle, kind, or sweet–harsh is the most common adjective–and yet, at the same time, I completely agree with you. I love desert more every time I have come back to it, even though before I left I thought it never really felt like home. And it is gorgeous, and the heat kind of caresses you, holds you up, cradles you. It feels almost tangibly human sometimes. Or maybe I’m delusional…

    Oh and you have a typo: “There are no the”

Leave a Reply

 
