To Miss

It’s funny. Since the moment I packed my bags and trooped off to college six months ago, I feel like I’ve been in a constant state of missing something. When I’m away at school, I miss home. And when come home for the breaks, I miss school.

I’m sitting in my bed at home right now, my super-sized down blanket engulfing me in a cocoon of warmth, and I can’t help but think of all the times when my roommate would find me huddled in the depths of my bed doing work, my hair disheveled and my attire channeling that of an unfashionable bum. Outside my bedroom, I can hear my parents’ pacing as they finish off their day, and with the crescendo of their footsteps, I expect to hear my friend’s voice from across the hall, accompanied by a blast of her rhythmic yet lyrical Indian music. And as I sip Earl Gray from a mug I just pulled out of the dishwasher, I am reminded of someone I wish were here by my side.

My heart pangs with a longing to be back at school again. I miss my roommate, my friends, and everything that justifies the five-digit tuition. It’s not that I want to wish away my time at home. I just wish that I could be in two places at once.

~ by thechanster on 10:59 pm, Wednesday, March 25, 2009.

One Response to “To Miss”

  1. I wish I was as happy as you sound with college. But I know what you mean. I don’t really miss school as much as everyone else claims to when I’m home, but home doesn’t feel quite right either anymore. I’m dissatisfied no matter where I am.

Leave a Reply

 
