A Canon 5D?!?!

Yesterday morning I made a trip over to my professor’s office to pick up a camera to use for the first three weeks of the photography introductory seminar I am taking this quarter. He opened one of the large, padded bags and a huge black piece of technology emerged. It was a Canon 5D equipped with a beautiful EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM lens. I looked at the thing, all-too-aware of its market price. He handed the camera over to me and I gripped the body with my hands, my fingers wrapped around its sturdy structure. This was the camera of the professionals, the expert photographers, the real artists. For a full minute, I stood in front of my professor, the super-camera cradled in my palms. I wanted to put it on a pedestal and bow to it.

“Try it out,” he said, as though if it was no more important than, say, trying out a pair of new shoes.

I didn’t know what to do. I stared at the camera, my film-trained brain befuddled by the plethora of buttons, features, and fancy settings. I felt like an amateur explorer trying to take on the Nile.

That night I lay in bed, reading the user manual. By the time my brain was overflowing with new information, I knew how to use the basic operations of the camera. But how sad is it if the only thing I understand about the Canon 5D is how to put it in automatic mode? Why, then, should I get to use such a powerful piece of machinery? Why not just give me a point-and-shoot?

Perhaps after some fiddling around, I’ll actually understand how to apply the concepts in the user manual. But for now, I still don’t understand why the manual analogue film cameras weren’t good enough.

~ by thechanster on 7:31 am, Friday, April 3, 2009.

2 Responses to “A Canon 5D?!?!”

  1. Oh my gosh you got into the class? Congrats!!!!

  2. sorry, once again that was Veronica…I really should learn from my mistakes :P

Leave a Reply

 
