The Super-Productivity of New Quarters

At the start of each term, I feel as though I am overcome with the excitement of new courses, new professors, and new classmates. Without any motivation, my enthusasm for the beginning of the school is channeled towards doing homework that may not even be due for another several days. For example, I woke up at 7:30 am this morning, cleaned my room, showered, and then sat down at my desk and just worked. I wrote a relatively thorough response about Plato’s Phaedrus, read a 30-page essay on writing, completed a form to ask the school for permission to take more than the allowed number of units, scheduled tutoring students, organized my schoolwork, planned out the next few weeks, and began reading a short story by Raymond Carver, only to realize that the photocopier had cut off a significant portion of the text. And even though I had class at 11 am and have been jumping from lecture to lecture since then, I still feel incredibly productive. I just wish that I could keep this up for the full eleven weeks of a quarter. Also, I should be working right now.

~ by thechanster on 4:16 pm, Tuesday, April 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
