The People

I woke up this morning and groaned. Even though it was a beautiful day and sun couldn’t be more inviting, I remembered that I had written in bold at the top of my to-do list (which is so long I almost need a scroll to get it all on one page): PAPER. Today was essay day. The day that I would wake up and not leave my room (save for meals) and not even shower until I had typed the last word onto the word document. A couple hours after half-heartedly skimming through Cicero’s On the Ideal Orator and notes I had scribbled during lectures, I realized that despite my lack of motivation to write the paper, it was going to be the last one of my freshman year. The very last one.

It’s been pretty incredible how quickly this year has gone by. Through the rapidity of the quarter system, the constantly changing dynamics of dorm life, and the struggle to get in a decent night’s sleep, I have learned much about the art of time management. It’s different than high school, where most study hours are spent doing busywork. Here, I actually feel like I’m using my brain, and although sometimes, it really just plain sucks when you have a crapload of work to do and not enough time to do it all, it feels wonderful when you literally feel like your brain is ready to shrivel up like a raisin. I love the feeling of burnt out brain cells not because I desire to feel intellectually exhausted, but because I derive satisfaction in knowing that my brain can be challenged up to its breaking point. It’s fantastic, and I think I’ll in school for a while, because I simply can’t get enough of it.

But it’s funny. While I feel like I’ve had all these new experiences, while I am no longer the clueless freshman who walked onto campus thinking that it’d be like summer math camp with more subjects (which it is, in some ways), I have trouble believing that it was over a year ago that I first decided to come here. I don’t feel much different than I felt when I was sixteen. I just know that I’ve had a couple extra years under my belt.

As Week 8 begins and this year draws to a close, I can’t help but think about the aspects of university life that I’m going to miss…

this tower

… the campus, the train, the bikes, the walking, the classes, the work, the dorm. But above all else, the people. The people here are the ones I’ll miss the most.

~ by thechanster on 11:07 pm, Saturday, May 16, 2009.

One Response to “The People”

  1. aww, i’ll miss the people too! and life at stanford. =( this year has gone by so fast.
    i’m glad you’re coming away with positive experiences :D

Leave a Reply

 
