Day 1

This last quarter, I took a fiction writing class (it was absolutely amazing!!!) and we read Stephen Koch’s The Modern Library Writer’s Workshop: A Guide to the Craft of Fiction, which I found to be an incredibly eye-opening read into the world of fiction writers. In one of the chapters, Koch discussed various approaches to writing: whereas some writers wait for inspiration to strike and then crack down on a typewriter, others go about it in a more regulated, quantitative manner, like setting up daily word counts or scheduling several non-negotiable hours of writing. Stephen King, for example, goes for the daily word count strategy and believes that 1,000 words a day is a decent starting word count quota.

Since this summer is essentially wide open in terms of my academic commitments, I figured I would try this method of a pre-set daily dose of writing. Knowing that I wouldn’t write more than a sentence or two if I only gave myself a required number of hours to spend sitting in front of a computer (and I would probably start surfing the internet instead of actually writing or even thinking), I decided that I would give King’s recommendation a go.

So last night, I cleaned up the remaining clutter in my room, making sure that there was not a single stray item in sight. That way, I would be able to wake up the next morning with nothing to distract me from starting Day 1 of my writing regimen. Sure enough, I woke up this morning, sat Indian-style in my comfy black roll-y chair, and wrote. Day 1: success. More precisely: 1093 words. And tomorrow: hope.

~ by thechanster on 5:07 pm, Monday, June 15, 2009.

One Response to “Day 1”

  1. Good luck for that pre-set :) you had a good start! 1093 words ;)

Leave a Reply

 
