Planning the Undergraduate Years

For the last four hours, I have been obsessively pouring over course descriptions, class schedules, major requirements, seminars, applications, etc. Reason? I suddenly realized that simply going through quarter-by-quarter, taking whatever courses I found interesting, was not going to work. Especially if I wanted to go abroad for a term. And so I panicked and mapped out a rough four-year college plan in a frenzy. Hence the four hours of obsessive planning. Yay.

The good news is that if I choose my courses carefully and try to make the most of each and every unit in fulfilling the department requirements of my two majors (Math and English), then I believe I will be able to (comfortably!) graduate with more than enough credits. The bad news is that the parenthetical “comfortably!” actually refers to a rather rigorous constantly-pushing-the-maximum-course-limit workload. According to my plan, the average number of units per quarter will be roughly 20.4, which is already above the maximum unit allowance. So I’ll have to petition to the university, write essays explaining why I desperately need those extra units, and get on my hands and knees, begging them to just let me take more classes than any sane person would ever want to take.

Despite the insanity that lies ahead in these next few years, I cannot wait until I actually get to execute my four-year plan. I love both the math department and the English department and I feel so fortunate to have the opportunity to learn from the amazing professors and lecturers. If I had a choice, I think I’d want to stay in school forever and just keep learning and learning. I’m such a nerd, and I’m proud of it. And also: I’m tired of summer. Why must there still be three weeks until the start of term?

~ by thechanster on 2:26 am, Sunday, August 30, 2009.

One Response to “Planning the Undergraduate Years”

  1. “If I had a choice, I think I’d want to stay in school forever and just keep learning and learning. I’m such a nerd, and I’m proud of it.”

    I know EXACTLY what you mean. I was actually thinking this exact thought in my “Gods in Literature” course this Tuesday. I was sitting there, LOVING the lecture, wishing I could learn like this forever–why does school have to end?–and then I realized how ludicrously nerdy this thought was, but I simply didn’t care. I’ve always loved school.

Leave a Reply

 
