October Greetings

It’s 11:55 pm on the 1st of October, and probably by the time I finish typing up this blog post, midnight will have come and gone. I’m sitting up in my lofted bed, giving me a bird’s eye view of my room. It’s quite nice up here. Despite my fear of heights, I actually quite enjoy being so close to the ceiling. It’s like I’ve had some sort of post-pubescent growth spurt. It’s also quite interesting to think that only a couple feet above my head, the residents of the second floor are pacing around. Below me, the rest of my room is in darkness, and the faint glow of light coming through the sheer curtains (there’s a lamppost right outside my room) is glimmering off the columns and columns of photographs on my wall, off my one and only picture frame, off the shiny bindings of textbooks.

It makes me sad that so much of my experience of my room this year has been at this hour, when all is silent but for the sound of footsteps above me, when all is dark but for the glow outside, when I am alone. These last two weeks, I have spent more time asleep in my room than I have awake, and when you factor things in like the weekend, that’s quite a statement. My schedule has had me out of the dorm by 9 am and back at 10 pm on every single weekday. You’d think it would be exhausting, but it’s been fine thus far. Surprisingly. Not that I’m complaining or anything… I just thought it’d be more stressful than it has been.

This quarter I am auditing two credits, enrolled for twenty-two, working at least ten hours a week, and am an major event coordinator for an organization. I thought I’d be way over-my-head in work and just barely keeping up, but this week has been quite comfortable. There is no doubt that I have quite a lot of work to do, but all things considered, these last few days have really been alright. I am more emotionally stable than I was last week and am therefore more able to concentrate on my work, the new event I organized went splendidly well today, and in general, things are going quite smoothly.

Only shock of today: it’s already October.

It’s a new month, and a new month calls for resolutions. So:

  1. Spend more time in room and with roommate (!!!)
  2. Keep up with work and get ahead if possible.
  3. NEVER procrastinate.
  4. Sleep an average of 6 hours per night, 8 hours on weekends.
  5. Go to office hours and talk to professors.
  6. Plan for NaNoWriMo, which is going to be amazing.
  7. Get ahead of HW and essays and reading before November starts.
  8. Talk more during English discussions.
  9. Practice violin more regularly.
  10. Continue meeting new people! :)

But for now… bed time! Good night! Happy October!

~ by thechanster on 12:22 am, Friday, October 2, 2009.

One Response to “October Greetings”

  1. You are a marvel of time management. I wish I had your organization and focus…once upon a time…

Leave a Reply

 
