The Early AM

When it comes down to it, I am exhausted. Physically, mentally, emotionally, you name it. This quarter’s gotten off to a rough start and so here I am in the early AM, trying to work out how I am going to manage academics, work, sleep, and a social life. On weekdays, I wake up before 8, leave the dorm at 9, and don’t get back until 10 in the evening, which amounts to an average of 13-hour school days. I study when I wake up until when I leave the dorm, I study during the one-hour or two-hour slots between classes, I study when I get back in the evening until I fall asleep, worn out from yet another busy day. And on weekends, between hours of reading and hours of work, I try to spend time with my roommate, who I rarely see during the week, and wander the halls to socialize with my fellow dormmates.

It does indeed sound insane. And yes, to an extent, it is insane. But it’s also wonderful. I assure you that my schedule is not actually as intense as it sounds (it helps that I love all my classes) and that the workload I have taken on this quarter is actually feasible without the possession of superpowers. I love being busy. Busy is good for me and, therefore, this quarter is and will be good, I think. It’s just getting in the groove of things that is exhausting. After a humdrum, sit-on-your-donkey-all-day summer, this super-packed, run-from-meeting-to-class-to-work-to-class-etc fall quarter is quite a change. But things are settling down, I think, and things are becoming more stable.

I can’t believe it’s already been three weeks since term began. At the end of the first week, it felt like a month had gone by. And now, it feels like I arrived on move-in day a week ago. It was a shock to open my planner a couple Thursdays ago and see that September had come and gone, and now, with my birthday coming up in less than a week, I find it difficult to fully feel the time that seems to be so suddenly slipping by.

A lot of things have happened that I wish had happened differently, but that’s what a lot of life seems to be about, right? Looking at the cards you’re dealt, sometimes followed by complaining a little about their perceived crappiness, and then making the most of whatever you have in your hands.

~ by thechanster on 2:12 am, Sunday, October 11, 2009.

One Response to “The Early AM”

  1. I know what you mean, I love being busy. I think that’s part of the reason I’m at such a loss here…

Leave a Reply

 
