Home for the Holidays

It’s been a while, I know, and I’m not quite sure I know how I came to get off on such a long hiatus. I hope it won’t happen again.

This last quarter has been quite a ride, and now that I’ve finally gotten a chance to sit down, to breathe, to think about the last eleven weeks that went by in a whirlwind of work, work, and more work, I can actually reflect back on this quarter. Sort of. To be honest, most of this last quarter has gone by too quickly. One moment I was struggling to write a thesis for my first English paper. And then before I knew it, I was thanking my math professor, handing him my final exam, and opening the door of the math department to let in the cold winter air. I breathed in the mist and let out that breath in warm, cloudy white puffs. Winter break.

I flew home a few days ago, and it’s been wonderful spending time with family and a couple friends, though many are only just starting to fly in from various parts of the country. In a few days, most of us will be reunited, exhausted from finals but glad to be home, where our friendships first began. Yes, I love school, and when I am there, it is home for me. But Home will always be here, where my family is. Home. It is wonderful to be home for the holidays.

I should apologize here for the incohesiveness of this post… perhaps holiday-induced intellectual debilitation has already begun. Or perhaps my brain decided to take a holiday also. In either case, I think it would be best if I stopped writing in paragraphs and made a list. Here is a list of things I have thought about recently. Some involve the past. Some involve the future. Others are in-betweeners.

1. I think this quarter has been the most intellectually fulfilling quarter yet. I hope next quarter will be just as amazing as this quarter has been.

2. My schedule next term sounds a bit like a high schooler’s schedule… English, Geometry, Algebra II, Music, Chinese. I am quite looking forward to it.

3. I miss taking pictures. I will try to do that more over break. And maybe next quarter also.

4. I’d like to exercise more. Maybe I’ll start walking in the mornings.

5. The world’s a beautiful place. I love the mountains. And here, the sunrises are beautiful. I would like to go hiking sometime. Soon, if possible.

6. Reading list for winter break only has a few books on it. Atkinson, Oates, Styron. Then I can head to the used bookstore and not feel to guilty about picking up a couple more books to add to my winter list.

7. I love Pandora.

8. I can’t believe that this decade is coming to a close.

9. New Year’s Resolution: Keep all new year’s resolutions.

10. This song is beautiful: Song for You by Alexi Murdoch.

~ by thechanster on 7:16 pm, Wednesday, December 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
