Thoughts, and Nothing More

It’s amazing that in less than a week, I will be on my way back to school. Back to massive piles of work (problem set, problem set, essay, problem set, problem set). Back to sleep deprivation (well, hopefully not too much). Back to trying to juggle a social life without sacrificing academics. That sounds absolutely horrendous, but in actuality, I really do love school. I’ll be taking pretty nifty courses this upcoming term, so that’s exciting, and hanging out with friends is always wonderful.

As far as break goes, it’s been pretty nice. My family and I have been vacationing for the last week, which means that I have finally tried to do this thing people call “relaxing.” Haha. At home, I always feel like I should be doing something productive, but in a hotel room, it is almost like that obligation is relieved from me. Instead of sitting down at a computer and doing work of some sort, I’ve been thinking more and consequently returning to my journaling habits.

re: NaNoWriMo. I had this vision at the beginning of November that I was going to write some sort of masterpiece. At the pace of 2,000 words per day. Ha. Only now do I realize how delusional I was. In a perfect world, I would have written a beautiful novel that would mark the beginning of my JCO-esque career, I would travel the country (and later the world!) to do book readings, and I would be holding highly coveted book-signings. But alas! this is reality. And at the end of November, I was left not with a 50,000-word masterpiece, but a 50,000-word manuscript that can only be called a “draft” is one is being ridiculously generous with one’s words. So it is that I sit here now, at the end of December, not wondering which publisher I should go to, but rather wondering whether I should give it a thorough edit or not. Truth be told, I don’t know if the “draft” deserves anything more than the recycle bin.

In any case. One more week at home, and then another busy, busy quarter will start up again. I love school and all, but really, I wouldn’t mind another week or so of vacation.

~ by thechanster on 10:29 am, Sunday, December 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
