Yarn? Yes. And Spring. (oh, and a free crochet pattern)

It’s Sunday, and I can feel the hours of Spring Break dying away… This morning, I awoke at 7:30, hit with an urgency to get things done in preparation for the new quarter: unpacking, cleaning, vacuuming, buying textbooks, writing, emailing, doing all the stuff I was supposed to do last week. So I’ve written up a to-do list in my journal (I’ve switched to an unlined one! It’s really pretty. It has this nice soft leather cover and a sort of humbly earthy design on the front.) and I’ve been on the move for the last few hours. So much to do, so little time, and I think despite the brevity of Spring Break, it worked. That is, it once again feels good to be busy and get things done. Maybe it’s just me being a nerd, but right now, I actually want to do work! Give me books to read, problem sets to do, writing exercises to play with, math to digest, Chinese characters to memorize, music to learn!

Okay. So maybe I’m exaggerating a little. But point is: I’m excited for the new quarter. And also: For the first time since I started university, I actually brought yarn from home! So now I have several projects in working order, most of them started over spring break. So yarn. Yes.

Here’s a hat that I knit for my friend a while ago. It’s a pretty quick knit-up (I think it took me less than 5 hours), with Vanna’s Choice Yarn, US 9 needles. Let me know if you want the cable pattern! It’s a 16-stitch, 14-row (I think?) cable pattern. I just repeated it 8 times around and it turned out alright, I think, but a little on the small size. If you want a bigger hat, you could try using US 10 needles instead.

Last quarter, I went to this talk about hyperbolic space and the speaker showed us these crocheted pieces of negatively curved surfaces! So I made one too:

It’s still in the works because I’m making it for a friend and he wants me to make it as large as possible, so I’m just going to keep going until I run out of yarn. It’s super easy, though. Here’s the pattern:

Row 1: Chain 2. Single crochet (sc) 6 stitches into the first chain. (6)
Row 2:  Crochet 2 sc in each stitch. (12)
Row 3:  Sc 1, sc 2 in next stitch, and repeat around. (18)
Row 4: Sc 2, sc 2 in next stitch, and repeat around. (24)
Row 5: Repeat row 3.

And then you can keep repeating Row 5 ad nauseum, and then you’ll have yourself a nice work that looks like crocheted coral. Yay!

Okay. On with my Sunday now. Toodles! :)

~ by thechanster on 2:02 pm, Sunday, March 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
